speeded up the process materially and the total refining capacity of the Mint was increased to 1,250,000 ounces of fine gold per annum.

During the War of 1914-18, the Ottawa Mint came to the assistance of the British Government by refining South African gold on account of the Bank of England. This necessitated the erection of a temporary building in the Mint grounds. The building was equipped with an entirely new chlorine plant and, by working several shifts, had a capacity of one million ounces of fine gold per month. During the years 1916-18, over nineteen million ounces of South African crude bullion were refined in this plant. After 1918 the supply of South African gold ceased and the refinery operated at normal working capacity on bullion from Canadian sources only.

On Dec. 1, 1931, the Mint was taken over by the Department of Finance on behalf of the Dominion of Canada and is now known as the Royal Canadian Mint. As the gold production in Canada had increased steadily and had been particularly accelerated by the increase in the price of gold from \$20.671834 until it reached \$35 per fine ounce in 1934, the capacity of the plant was again found inadequate. Therefore, a new refinery with modern machinery was completed late in May, 1936.

Organization of the Ottawa Mint, 1940.—As constituted at present, the Ottawa Mint consists of four principal departments:—

- 1. The Mint Office, in which all bullion is received for coinage purposes and from which the finished coins are issued to various parts of Canada on requisitions received from the Chief of the Currency Division, Bank of Canada, Ottawa.
- 2. The Operative Department, with its subdivisions: (a) The Melting House in which the bullion is melted with the requisite alloy into coinage bars. (b) The Coining Department, where the coinage bars are rolled into fillets from which the coin blanks are cut, marked, annealed, blanched, cleaned, struck, and tested before delivery to the Mint Office. (c) The Die Department, where the coinage dies are made. (d) The Mechanical Department, where the power is generated and renewals and repairs to all minting machinery effected.
- 3. The Assay Office, where the fineness of crude bullion, fine ingots, coinage bars, and finished coins is ascertained.
- 4. The Refinery, where deposits of rough gold bullion are melted and refined, the fine gold and silver contents extracted and cast into bars for coinage or for trade purposes.

Once each year the integrity of the coins turned out by the Mint is checked by three Assay Commissioners nominated by the Governor General in Council under the terms of the Currency Act. During the year, Mint officers set aside one piece, selected at random, from each 'journey' (720 ounces) of silver coin ready for issue. The Assay Commissioners meet once each year and weigh and assay the pieces that have been set aside, in order to determine whether they are within the prescribed limits of weight and fineness, reporting their findings to the Minister of Finance.

Refining Procedure.—The deposits of crude gold bullion—known in Mint parlance as 'rough gold'—are received at the refinery receiving-room, weighed by officers from the Mint Office, and each deposit given a serial number; any marks or peculiar features are noted at the time. They are then transferred to the refinery office and again weighed by refinery officers. These deposits may vary in